Established in 1964, the Crash Box and Classic Car Club is a multi-make classic car club with a wide variety of vehicles in the ownership of members.

Originally simply known as “The Crash Box Club” when in the early 90’s the words ‘and Classic Car’ were added to the club name to be able to embrace the later types of car though predominately still over 25 to 30 years old.

However we have no exact definition of what constitutes a ‘classic car’.

In fact to become a member you do not even have to own a classic or historic car – we simply welcome all those with an enthusiasm for the world of old cars

The club is very busy with numerous social events to encourage the 500 or more members to make as much use of their cars as possible.

We have a regular ‘First-Monday-in-the Month’ meeting at The Ruffwell, Thorverton starting from about 7.00pm Often during the lighter evenings a good selection of classic cars can be seen in the pub car park.

Club Night at The Ruffwell, Thorverton

To join the Crash Box & Classic Car Club please visit the Club’s website HERE

The Club has been fortunate in having Club Members willing to volunteer in huge numbers to put this event on since it was started way back in 1975. The most important being the person ‘in charge’. That is the Rally Chairman. Below are those who have taken on what has to be said is quite an onerous task, well done them!

2017 / 2018 / 2019             Richard Nunn assisted by sub-committee of Sheila Poupard, Nick Jones, Mary Crook and Steve Day

2014, 2015, 2016               Richard Gardiner
2012, 2013                          Mike Doherty
2010, 2011                          Sue Smallwood
2007, 2008, 2009               Haydn Ryder
2006                                    David Weekes
2003, 2004, 2005              Ann Edwards
2000, 2001, 2002              Mike Chalmers
1996, 1997, 1998,1999    Phil Erith
1993, 1994, 1995              Haydn Ryder
1979 to 1992                     Mike Overfield-Collins
1978                                   Nigel Albright
1975, 1976, 1977             David Nation